Day 17: my addiction

My addiction: the television show, 24 – the greatest show on Earth.

When I saw the theme for today, there was absolutely no doubt of what I would take a photo of. Yes I’m addicted to books, reading, coffee, my camera, Instagram, chocolate, fuzzy socks, peace signs, sweatpants and lots of other things. But finding 24 was one of the best things I ever did.

I began on Season 5, and I was absolutely convinced that Jack Bauer was going to die in that airport terminal. When the terrorists walked him out of his hiding spot and brought him to his knees I was thinking, “There’s no way this guy’s gonna make it! He’s a dead man!” I was so convinced Jack was a goner that I began to get on Dad’s nerves with my protests and comments. It was when Jack Bauer survived that situation that I realized I wasn’t watching just any other, normal, ordinary, everyday show. I was watching 24, and I was hooked for the rest of my life.

I won’t go into details about the show. I can’t share the love I have for the show with you, because it cannot be expressed in words. When I see, hear, or even think of 24 or anything that  relates to it, a warm sensation begins in deep inside my belly and chest, and spreads outwards to my limbs. I get the shiveries and goosebumps. I don’t know what it is, why is is, or how is happens. All I know is that this show is part of me.

Yes, I’ve heard the comment, “It’s just a show” more times than I can count. And all I can do to that is shake my head, because there is no way I can explain it to anyone. No, I’m not in love with Jack Bauer, or any of the characters. No, I don’t really follow any of the actors that play the characters. I’m addicted, obsessed, & hooked on 24, plain and simple.

Peace.

Leave a comment