Design Your Dream {Reading & Writing} Room

dailyprompt

 I know I’m a little late on this but what the heck. As soon as I read it I knew I had to do it.

I absolutely love reading, and writing to a lesser extent. I’ve always loved reading. My next door neighbor and I used to come up with ideas of what our dream room would be like, with elaborate diagrams and descriptions, various gidgets and gadgets that we thought would be fun to have. And can’t forget the secret passage ways and cubby holes. (:

Needless to say, I think I could come up with an extremely long description of what the perfect space for reading and writing would be for me. But I’ll try to keep it simple.

First, design. I love love love natural light – and lots of it! – so my room would have to have some windows that let in lots of sunlight. These windows, however, couldn’t just look over anything. Mountain scenery and nature only , nothing manmade in sight. I also wouldn’t want an overly spacious room. I’ve always wanted a loft, too!

Second, decor. (: Oh man, I would have fun with this. Canvases of my dogs would be hung up on the walls in some manner. I would also drag some ideas off of Pinterest to display quotes that would be intermittently placed among the photos. Rope lights and Christmas lights would have to be implemented as well, hung on the walls, around door and window frames, on the railings of the loft.

Third, furniture. The loft would be the reading corner. And when I say loft, I’m thinking a nice big one that takes up at least half the size of the room. It would have lots of cozy, comfy, squishy, and soft furniture: big bean bags, fluffy couches, big arm chairs, rocking chairs. Plus fluffy blankets and lots of pillows. Lighting would be kept to a minimum (apart from the windows for during the day), with different colored lights for a darker, more relaxed atmosphere. Lights would be either stand-alone or out of the wall. Of course I’d have bright white lights, just in case I felt the need to use them.

The writing room would be the bottom half of the room. The walls would be busier than in the reading loft, with more photos and quotes on the walls. I really like this idea. And the colors of the walls would be more stimulating than the neutral colors I picture in the reading loft, maybe a checkerboard design on one wall, a sparkly painted wall for another. Obviously I’d need a desk or table of sorts. This is pretty neat but I think I’d like something more like #4 on this page, but with more color to it. I like lots of space to work with and spread all my crap out on. (: I would also somehow incorporate a cork board to put notes, reminders, random ideas, photos, and quotes on to. A couch or chair corner with a lamp and table would provide a comfier spot to sit and think if my thought process called for it. And somewhere in that area would have to be a music station. An iHome with corner speakers to stream either my own music or Pandora, most likely.

And you know what would be really cool? Clapper lights and voice activated locking for the door so I wouldn’t have to get up from my reading or writing spot to let someone in. (:

Yeah, this prompt was given on February 3rd, but I’ve given it some serious thought. That’s why it took me so long. ;)

This is my current reading corner. Don’t get me wrong, I do like it and it works for now. But maybe someday I’ll be able to get that room described above. (:

Day38

Peace.

6 comments on “Design Your Dream {Reading & Writing} Room

  1. I’ve always wanted a loft as a writing/reading room… :)

  2. such a clever idea :) I agree though – natural light is best for reading!

  3. liz says:

    Natural light! Loft! Fluffy stuff! Christmas lights! Love it! I think I would have a combo of industrial metal/iron and natural woody stuff too. And pops of color all over. And things from my travels. :) Awesome post!

Leave a Reply

