November 22nd: Grateful

I’m thankful for my niece and nephew from Colorado, who came for Thanksgiving this year. I don’t get to see them as much as I’d like so it was nice to have them around for a few days.

However days like these wear.me.out. The constant stimulation. All the people. My introvert self struggles to stay afloat after a bunch of that stuff. And trying to find somewhere to just be alone for a bit is difficult with a full house. Went to Skyfall with the family tonight, my first James Bond movie. Wasn’t that impressed, but if you like ‘cheap’ entertainment, it will give you all the expected oohs and aahs and terribly prolonged dramatic moments. And of course the sex/romance stuff.

I also began reading the book Dustin got me for our anniversary, which is Susan Cain’s Quiet. I absolutely love it. Everything that has been described as introversion so far is as if the author was using me as a template. Seriously. The one thing I don’t like though is what she explains as the “Extrovert Ideal.” Everything she has said about that is true as well: people asking me why I’m so shy, teachers and profs telling me that if I don’t speak up in class I’m not going to get very far or learn very much, the pressure I feel to have a quick & snappy response to everything, the positivity society puts on those who jump right into things. And lots more. Honestly, it’s sickening to me. [What was God thinking when he made me a ginger AND an introvert?! ;)]

I’m eager to finish the book, but unfortunately now that Thanksgiving is over the rest of break is going to be gone in a blink of an eye. And that means I have to tackle some neglected homework…. and other things. Wish me luck. At least I wasn’t sick today like this chick  I know. 

Hope everyone had a wonderful and filling Thanksgiving. Not only in the stomach area, but the heart as well. I know I have a lot to be thankful for. <3

Peace.

Leave a Reply

