November 4th: T.V.

I *really* don’t care for television. It bores me majorly, and I always have the feeling that I could be doing so many other things instead of sitting on the couch watching T.V. Like reading a book, playing with my dogs, taking pictures with my Canon or my iPhone, drinking coffee & surfing the web, taking a walk, writing in my journal and/or blogging, or even unpleasant things like homework or cleaning my room or hanging up my clothes. I’d even rather pick up dog poop than watch television. And it irritates the heck out of me when a T.V is on and nobody is watching it!

Funny thing is, I never really had this attitude toward television until I started watching 24. Of course, I didn’t realize it at the time of watching 24 that I didn’t like T.V. –> I realized it after the show went off the air. And that is because 24 set the standard so high in regards to everything on television – drama, action, suspense, ethical dilemmas, relationships, politics, citizen/family life, and so much more – that every other show doesn’t just pale in comparison… they literally disappear. Nothing has been able to keep my attention on T.V. since 24. And to this day, I stand behind my claim that 24 was not and is not merely ‘television’ or ‘just a t.v. show’ –> it was so much bigger and better, in every single way possible.

You might be wondering why I haven’t said much about 24 in my entire blog but you’ve probably noticed my 24 sign on the right hand column. That is because I really couldn’t explain to you what 24 is to me. I can tell you what it’s about, who’s in it, what goes on, what it entails, why it is better than other shows. I could debate with you the issues and questions it raises, the reality of the situations, the depth and volume and tenacity of the characters. But I couldn’t even begin to express what it means to me. So I leave it up to you. If you share my love of 24, awesome. If you’ve never seen it, go watch it if you feel the need, but honestly I don’t care if you like it or hate it or don’t give a rat’s tail either way. 24 is my show. Period. And when I die, I will be dressed in my 24 gear and be buried with my seasons of the show. And my gravestone will have ’24Freak For Life’ engraved on it.

Now a side note: I will watch Criminal Minds on DVD when the season is over and it is out. And I love that show, too. But I can’t find the motivation or purpose to go watch it when it is first airing on television. It’s not *that* good to me. And if Criminal Minds were to lose its core characters, the ones that make the show, I probably wouldn’t care to watch it anymore. It’s like that with a lot of shows, isn’t it? With 24, though, there is only one guy on it that if they had killed off, I *might* have refused to watch it again. Everybody else is and was disposable. Because it wasn’t the characters that made the show; it was the show itself.

And to this day since I started watching it in 2006, there has not been a single day that goes by in which 24 does not cross my mind.

So. What’s your favorite show? (:

~

Peace.

Leave a Reply

