Iron Band – a poem

If I had coal and fire

And metal fine and true

I’d make an iron band

An iron band for you

I’d pick up all the pieces

From where they fell that day

Fit them back together

And take the pain away

But I don’t have the iron

And I don’t have the steel

To wrap around your broken heart 

And teach it how to heal

Somewhere in the fire

Somewhere in the pain

I’d find the magic that I need

To make you whole again

I’d make the iron band so strong

I’d make it gleam so bright

I’d fix the things I’ve broken

I’d turn my wrongs to right

But I don’t have the iron

And I don’t have the steel

To wrap around your broken heart

Wish I could make it heal

Wish I could make it heal.

– from Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

These are actually lyrics to a song the character wrote in the book. It is a fantastic book, so if you have the time I would encourage you to read it. (:

Peace.

Leave a Reply

