My First Wedding Photography ‘Gig’

The number one thing I learned today was that I have a lot to learn. 

 

I woke up, went to Starbucks, and hit the road. The drive went smoothly (I need to get a GPS!) and I made it to my destination an hour early. As soon as Shane & his wife, Becca, got there we went inside and chatted for a bit about what was going to happen and what I needed to do while they set up the lights for the pre-wedding photos. Then people started getting there, meaning the bride and groom. Shane gave me a quick and dirty rundown of what to do in the room with the groom and groomsmen, then he and Becca went to capture the important bride moments.

No, I wasn’t expecting to be left on my own to take pictures on my first day. But it turned out alright.

The bride and groom didn’t see each other until the wedding, so Shane took all the pictures of each of them with families, friends, groomsmen, & bridesmaids. Then the groom got blindfolded and the bride came out for some shots with him. The little flower girl was around pretty much the entire time, and she sang “Tinkle, tinkle, liddle dar” for us. She was too adorable. (:

The ceremony was short and sweet. I was in the back taking wide angle shots during and the closeups before and after. After everyone had congratulated the bride and groom at the end, family photos were taken. Lots of family photos. Then they hit the party bus, and I followed the bride’s mom to the reception. There, I set up the lights for Shane (he was on the party bus) and took detail shots. The reception was breathtakingly beautiful.

Once everyone got there, we just went with the flow. The announcements, the toasts, the kisses, the dances, the garter toss, and the bouquet toss. Shane directed me and assured me the whole way. It was pretty laid back. He gave me pointers throughout, why he does this or that. It was fascinating, the amount of information I couldn’t digest today. xD This is Shane’s second full year shooting weddings full time and I am astounded at everything he’s learned in such a short time. That’s dedication and determination.

All in all, I had an absolutely awesome time, and cannot wait to do it again. It was tiring and back breaking, but the happiness on people’s faces and the emotions of the moment and the sentimentality of the entire day was amazing. Watching the bride tear up 2 minutes before walking down the aisle, seeing old couples dancing, the family and friends. It was just plain awesome. (:

Peace.

2 comments on “My First Wedding Photography ‘Gig’

  1. liz says:

    congrats on your gig!! that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

