The Butterfly Effect

It has been said that something as small as the flutter of a butterfly’s wing can ultimately cause a typhoon halfway around the world – Chaos Theory

Has anyone else seen this movie? What do you think of it? I watched it last night for the first time and I thought it was absolutely fantastic.

The different life paths we take and could have taken have always intrigued me. If we had taken a different way home that one day last week, if we hadn’t said hi to that person across the street, if we hadn’t decided to run that red light… and so on. For me, I’ve often wondered, what if my biological mother hadn’t been an alcoholic? What if I hadn’t been so blessed as to be adopted by the wonderful family I have now? What if I hadn’t created an account on YouTube and met that group of agility juniors? What if I had never spoke up to that girl across from me in my 9th grade English class, who was reading a book based off of my favorite show at the time? How would a different decision or decisions in the past create a different future(s)?

Yeah, it’s stupid to think about what could have been, but interesting at the same time. Of course we can’t change the past, even though Ashton Kutcher in the movie managed to do so. We don’t have the luxury of having time-moving mind powers. We can always wonder and take guesses but the truth is we really only have one chance to make a decision. One day, one hour, one minute, one second. Once a second passes, it’s over and we’ll never get it back. Did I make that second valuable, or did I waste it? I guess we never know until after the fact, until the “future” is here and we are once again making a decision about what to do or say or how to act, etc. There’s a tricky dilemma for you: every decision affects your future, but your future is always your present.

One little known secret to making precisely the right move, at precisely the right time in your life is knowing that in all cases, there is more than one right move and more than one right time. Lots and lots more. – The Universe

Peace.

2 comments on “The Butterfly Effect

  1. liz says:

    AMAZING post, heather! Just beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

