I got my heart broken tonight

There are a few things in life that cannot be expressed in words, only felt and seen with the heart. I believe this is why dogs – and all animals in general – weren’t given the ‘gift’ of speech. They don’t need it. They already have every single slice of wisdom on life and love that is possible, the amount of which a thousand more centuries of human advancement could not even come close to attaining or ever understanding.

Dogs are remarkable things.

I went into Angel’s kennel tonight, to say hi and give her some loving. This pure white setter/retriever mix had come in a week or so earlier, tail squeezed tight between her legs, body as low to the ground as she could get it without completely laying down. Her ears clamped to the sides of her beautiful feminine head, her gaze constantly skirting down, every step a seemingly giant leap. She had come from a guy who beat her and his other dog with table legs. Now she can walk through the kennel runs without too much cringing. I stepped into her kennel, holding her back as I did so, and she dropped to her belly instantly. She doesn’t resist, she doesn’t fight back, she doesn’t look up. I sat down beside her and gently pulled her head up to my lap, and lifted my leg over her so I was cradling her. She rested her head in the crook of my arm under my elbow, as if she was hiding. She didn’t move a muscle. We sat there like that for about 10 minutes before I shifted my weight to get up.

This dog, this wonderful, sweet, soulful, absolute angel of a dog, who hadn’t responded to any of my whispers or touches the entire 10 minutes, lifted her head up. Before I could get up, she put her head on my arm farthest from her, and then laid her paw over my lap, as if holding me there with her.

The thought of those small movements from a practically unresponsive, formerly abused dog, still give me goosebumps. There are really no words to describe what went through me.

~

All of those dogs there, touch me in some way. Whether I poke my fingers through the bars to say hello, or go inside the kennel itself to cuddle a bit more, they each have a story to tell if only someone would listen. And that story is one us humans could never understand, the love they describe and the heart they tell it with are unique to them alone. I truly believe each and every single dog is a living, breathing soul, something untouchable and forever mysterious to us mere humans.

Tell me, would you be this happy if you were locked in a kennel for 2 weeks straight?

Peace.

3 comments on “I got my heart broken tonight

  1. Nicole says:

    this is the greatest post ever. I love it I love it I love it!

  2. liz says:

    beautiful post. i can feel your love for those amazing creatures. xx

  3. That is just so bittersweet…You’re right. Words can’t do justice.

Leave a Reply

