Spreading some blog love

My friend Ashley did the Post-A-Day challenge in 2011. Everyday I would eagerly look forward to her posts as something to read and as a small insight into her inner dialogue, plus her views on things and stories from the day. She encouraged me to try it, but at the time I had little to no motivation for it. I liked blogging, but I not enough to believe I could keep it up day in and day out for 365 days straight, purely for lack of things to talk about. Then the new year rolled around. I posted on Jan 1st, then the 2nd. I said I was going to give it a shot, mainly as an answer to Ashley’s challenge to try it. My friend Amber agreed to do it with me.

I am so thankful I took the challenge.

My biggest worry at first was that I wouldn’t have anything to blog about. This led to paying more attention to things around me: occurrences during the day, things people said, things I saw or did or tried. Anything to share on my blog, as a story or interesting tidbit or such. It also led me to take out my camera more often and I found myself becoming much more aware of objects and scenes around me, things that could bring some color into a post. Plus a photo would be something to fall back on if I really didn’t have anything to say or share (like yesterday). I still worry about what I’m going to post, and there are days that I open up WordPress for a new post, then end up staring at the blinking cursor, completely lost on what I should share that day.

The month of March rolled around and I gave up Facebook. I think this, more than anything, drew me into the blog world. Without Facebook to fall back on when I got bored, I found myself searching for blogs to read instead. And I found some pretty neat ones, which often led me to even more. I soon began to look forward to blogging, sharing my thoughts and photos. And my inbox filled up with new posts each day from blogs I started to follow.  More and more I found myself immersed in the blogosphere.

Today I opened Liz’s post on be.love.live. and found that she nominated me for the inspiring blog award.

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you

Liz is one of my favorite bloggers ever. Each day she has some words of wisdom and love to share, and maybe some photos that provide a peak into her exotic (to me, at least (:) life. I was already enjoying reading her blog when I tagged her for the Questions game, in the hopes that she would answer them and we’d perhaps connect a little. And it worked. Through little conversations in comments and over Twitter, I connected to this American woman who chased her drams to Sweden and encourages uniqueness and love in everything she does and everybody she touches, even when she doesn’t realize it. Each time I read her post for the day it’s like a breath of fresh air. Thank you, Liz, for the nomination. It makes me so happy that my posts inspire you, and I am honored you chose my blog. (:

2. Share 7 things about yourself

  • I love cool (not necessarily cold) weather. I love the way it feels when I step outside and breath in the cool air, sharp and bitey in my lungs. I prefer cool and cold weather over blisteringly hot, but I also love soaking up the spring sunshine.
  • I was adopted.
  • Books are my escape. I used to read about 10-12 a week and in 5th grade I got the award for the top reader in my grade level in my state.
  • I really dislike television. It feels like such a waste of time to me.
  • I’m an introvert and proud of it.
  • I’d really like to visit England someday. British accents are my favorite!
  • Mini Coopers are my favorite cars, and I hope to own one someday.
3. Nominate 7 bloggers for the award
  • Hippie Dogs – Tori is one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever “met”. She has accomplished many of her dreams before the age of 21. She holds more wisdom in her head than anybody I’ve ever known at her age. She looks at the good things in life, is thankful for everything she has, and isn’t afraid to chase her dreams. Her and that little dog. (:
  • Tracie Louise Photography – Each day her blog holds a new photo and new words of insight into life that are worth remembering. Reading about her journey in photography and seeing how far she has come in such a short time inspires me to work harder and be a better person.
  • The Soul Reporter – Daily words of refreshment, gratitude, and love. Facing her own challenges, Nikki continues to spread the joy she knows exists in the world. You can’t help but feel humbled reading her blog.
  • Exploring Maybeland – While she doesn’t post as often as I would like, each of her posts offers a new idea that makes me think or helps me form my own idea about something.
  • My Days in Focus – Each day Dan has a new photo to share, as well as insights into how it was taken, and life in general. With each photo he puts a story and a connection to life that makes me think.
  • Into the Mind of an Ashhole – Her blog is private for personal reasons at the moment but if you wanted to check out her posts, request an invite. I’ve been friends with Ashley since 9th grade, and I’ve never had a closer friend. She brings her sarcastic sense of humor to each post and I think she needs to post more often. ;)
  • The Ah-Ha Moments – My dear friend Amber. Aspiring writer. Dreamer. Lover of life who let’s it get to her sometimes. She shares her views and worries and hopes and dreams, and is sure to make me think with her words and the music she shares.
Thanks again, Liz, and thank you to the awesome blogosphere. (:
Peace.

8 comments on “Spreading some blog love

  1. Thank you my friend… that’s a wonderful thing to say.

  2. liz says:

    HAHA! you totally got me with the questions game! i had completely forgotten about that. i’m so glad you tagged me so we could “meet”! :)

    and i am overwhelmed by your sweet words, heather. thank you!

  3. How wonderful! Congrats gorgeous!! :)

  4. nicmaybe says:

    Thank you so much for this! I’ll take it as a motivation to post more often :)

Leave a Reply

