This missing class thing can’t become a habit

It feels extremely weird posting without any pictures today, because I didn’t have my camera on me at all. Terrible, I know, I need to get back on it. And actually, I always say that the one time I don’t bring my camera with me I’ll wish I had it. And guess what happened? Yep, gorgeous sunset and dynamic clouds. It was wonderful to see, don’t get me wrong, but I was disappointed I couldn’t capture it in a photo.

I went to Starbucks today and sat there and did homework from 10:30am to 1pm. I got quite a bit accomplished, too, but there’s always something to do or get done. Eh, at least I put a slight dent in it.

One of the best parts of spending an extended period of time at Starbucks, or any public place such as it, is the people-watching. People do so many different things. When I first got there, the first thing I noticed were two men sitting at one of the center tables. But they’re not what caught my attention: the Canon 7D is what caught my eye. The other guy had a Nikon of some sort, but for a while they sat there and talked, then looked at some pictures on each others’ cameras, then went outside and smoked, and left. Photographers! Don’t really see them around too often, and I thought it was neat. My little Rebel would have looked so small and insignificant compared to their big professional cameras. :)

Another lady appeared to be heading an interview of sorts, with various people at different times. I’ve always thought it interesting that people conduct business meetings and such in Starbucks. There were a fair few who had their coffee and a book to get lost in; they tended to stay in the comfier chairs in the back. And a lot of people who came in had laptops and were doing various activities: one guy was making a mechanic/electrician flyer of sorts, and another appeared to be organizing files on his PC. When I left there was a what looked like college-age dude with earphones on and messing on his iPhone/iPod, whichever it was.

It’d be interesting to hear some of these folks’ stories: where they came from, where they’re going, why they’re doing what they’re doing at that moment, if they have a family at home, if they’re sure of their place in life or not. Just for curiosity’s sake. :)

This week has gone by ridiculously fast, and I have a test tomorrow as well as another paper due Monday so I better get to it.

Leave a Reply

