Hell & Back – repost

This is a note I posted on Facebook on August 3rd, 2010. It’s a good note, and worth re-reading, which I will probably do later. I’ve been thinking about posting it here for quite some time and since there’s not much time left for today’s post, it was the easiest.

There was a time when I dreaded getting out of bed. I dreaded getting dressed because it might not be the “right” clothes. I dreaded doing my hair because it might be the “wrong” hairdo. I dreaded walking through a crowd because I was afraid of what other people thought.

When in all reality, I was invisible, which I dreaded too. If nobody noticed me, how could I notice myself?

People say they’ve been to hell and back. They share their stories of family splits, death of a close friend by a drunk driver, the date that went wrong, a badly placed needle. They talk of the assholes who used them and abused them and cheated on them. Situations which tried to break them down. Sometimes it worked, usually it didn’t.Β 

I haven’t had any of these things happen to me. I’ve had loved ones die just like everyone else, I’ve had family problems that appeared to split us up forever. But I’ve figured out – you can point fingers at anything and everything bad to have ever happened to you as the reason of why you broke, or you can face the truth.

Nobody and nothing can make you do anything. We say that this thing caused us to almost break down but what is that picked us back up? You. Yourself. Nobody but yourself. People can give you all kinds of advice and words of wisdom to help you back on your feet, but that doesn’t mean they help. You are the one who has to make them help you, you have to believe.

Take responsibility for yourself and quit laying your problems on the road for other people to coo over. You think you have it hard? You probably do. So what are you gonna do about it?

 

I’ll leave you with some pictures. :)

A few of my schoolbooks. I pay a good amount of money a year to be told to read certain books to get a good education. Love it.

 

Playing with manual focus. I love this shot. xD

 

Lastly, my beautiful Jayde's foot. Never get tired of taking pictures of her. More to come!

 

9 comments on “Hell & Back – repost

  1. Snigdha says:

    The note is amazing, Heather :)

    And yes, so are the photographs!

  2. ashley says:

    Dogs’ feet are prettier than a human’s. All I’m saying.

  3. Amber says:

    I remember when you posted this on facebook. I loved it. I am very glad you posted this on your blog. I can definitely read it when life is getting to me.

    As always… Amazing, just simply amazing pictures.

  4. Love the photo of the foot – very cool.

Leave a Reply

