Operation Surprise Party: Success!

Had a wonderful day with Dustin’s mom and family today. We held a surprise birthday party for her and it worked out perfect. She didn’t have an inkling of what we were doing. As Mikayla put it:

Pink hat: $13
Pizzas: $64
Cake: $40
The look on Jolene’s face when she walked through the door and saw her family: Priceless. :)

Today made me think about family. My family. How very blessed I am to have what I have and who I have in my life. Lately, I’ve realized that, for the most part, I’ve been taking them for granted. Not just in little ways, but in big ways too. I see them every day, I can talk to them whenever I want – I just take it for granted that they’re there. And I have to face it: life is short. As morbid as it may seem, they’re not going to be there forever. So a goal I’ve set for myself is to give them each a hug, every single day. I could never tell them enough how much I love them, how much they mean to me, and how very thankful I am for everything they do for me. I don’t show it like I should, not nearly enough. So here’s to change.

 

There’s a woman after my own heart, giving little Parker (who is named after Spiderman, I learned today) a bite of her pizza.

2 comments on “Operation Surprise Party: Success!

  1. SWBVR says:

    i love that the dogs tail is blurred from wagging ;)

  2. Amber says:

    such an awesome post. It puts a smile on my face. Parker is such a sweetheart and Dustin’s mom seems sweet too.

Leave a Reply

