Set fire to the rain, let it burn

I had the plan of sitting down and writing an actual blog post, one where I actually made a point, but obviously that plan failed. If you haven’t noticed yet, I have this habit of wanting to write about my day and such. Can you say “boring“?

This whole college dealio has really opened my eyes. I look back on who I was in middle school, high school, and even my freshmen year of college, and it just makes me shudder. The naivety. The ignorance. Yeah, that stuff is normal, because you learn as you go. But it still amazes me. It’s probably not just college though. So much has happened in the past year and a half: my first boyfriend, testing my own boundaries and comfort zone (definitely a thing to work on), becoming more confident in myself (still madly insecure), and becoming better around people and crowds (still not my favorite, probably never will be). I also feel like my thoughts have taken an upward turn of analyzing anything and everything placed in front of me (yeah, didn’t think it was possible) and I’d imagine the logic crap has a large part in that. Critical thinking and shit. Have I mentioned how much that stuff is really starting to annoy me?

Sophist: one who argues for the sake of winning rather than finding truth; one who believes anything is true if you believe it is.

I don’t know which definition is true; I’ve heard both from two separate professors (both with a PhD). But according to the second definition I am a Sophist. However to me I don’t think that’s all there is to it. When I say “It’s all in what you believe” I mean it in the sense that if you want to believe something, go ahead and believe it. For you, it’s true. But I don’t think that necessarily makes it the truth. You can NOT believe in something even if it’s dancing naked in front of you wearing Dobby’s tea cozy (yay for the HP generation! :D)

I will post my weekly photo tomorrow. I missed the topic today. :P

One comment on “Set fire to the rain, let it burn

  1. Amber says:

    You can NOT believe in something even if it’s dancing naked in front of you wearing Dobby’s tea cozy (yay for the HP generation! :D)
    Amazing quote right there!

Leave a Reply

