I-n-d-e-p-e-n-d-e-n-t do you know what that mean?

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think I’ve figured out the entire point of college/education: to teach you how to think critically, evaluate everything you may see, hear, read, etc, keep an open mind, and come up with your own views on things. Among other things of course. As one of Ash’s profs said, “You’re here to learn skills!” These are some damn expensive skills, lady.

But seriously, in all my classes, especially the past couple semesters (and this one so far), they have been stressing critical thinking skills, logic, rationale, all that shit. And you know what?

I’m sick of it.

I don’t want to sound conceited, but I feel like I already had a natural sense of logic, reasoning, and critical thinking skills before I ever entered “higher education.” Don’t get me wrong – I think all my classes have helped me develop and refine these skills, so it hasn’t been bad or boring. The problem is I don’t think every[singlelittlefreaking]thing can be looked at and reasoned through. Lots of things, yes, but everything? Ehhh….

For instance, one of the reasons for studying logic that my prof gave last semester towards the beginning was psychological help. The reasoning was helping a person who is having, perhaps, depression issues through being rational and leading them to see that there is no good reason to be depressed would allow them to let go of the issue. After all, it’s irrational. However this is assuming that every person is a rational being. And sadly, that just ain’t true. Especially with the human mind and psyche. The young girl in high school may know and understand that she shouldn’t compare herself to others, because everybody is different. Yet knowing that doesn’t stop her from purging because she’s afraid of what others think of her or is ashamed of her weight. And she may also know what purging is not good for her health, teeth, or body, but something in the human mind overrides the logic. Maybe that wasn’t the best example, but hopefully you get my drift. On the other hand…

Back when I was in 6th, 7th, 8th, and a bit into 9th grade, I had some strange habits. One of them was counting stairs. I absolutely had to count each and every step, going up or down. If I went one way around a pole, I absolutely had to go back around it in the opposite direction before continuing forward. If I didn’t, I had a minor panic attack that included thoughts of getting “tangled” and “stuck.” Those were the two biggest habits that stuck out to me. At first, I didn’t really think much of them. When I began becoming anxious if I happened to miss a step, or wasn’t given the chance to go back around a chair that I’d walked around, I realized that it was affecting me in a very negative way. Later I figured it as the beginning stages of OCD. At first, I became scared that I was going to be stuck with these weird habits for the rest of my life. But then I realized that I had control over it and could set my mind to stop these habits. So I did. It wasn’t easy and  it wasn’t quick, but I managed to move past it through telling myself that nothing bad would happen if I happened to go around a pole and not go back around it. Even to this day I’m careful about counting steps and such.

In my opinion, I got through that through the process of reasoning. But like I said above, not everybody is a rational person like we’d hope. And I certainly know I’m not rational all the time. Humans do weird things, irrational things, that make no sense at all, yet we continue to do them and probably always will.

Maybe all the pressure by college professors to think critically is good for some people, those who can’t or don’t do it naturally. I’ve always questioned everything since I could talk. This is all just my opinion. I’m already tired of logic and arguments and it’s only the second day of classes. Oi…

5 comments on “I-n-d-e-p-e-n-d-e-n-t do you know what that mean?

  1. ashley says:

    It’s all the stupid idiots walking around that are forcing these professors to stress all that logic and critical thinking.

    Face it: you’re just too smart for college.

  2. Amber says:

    Over coming OCD, is no small feet. It’s freaking incredible. You have got an amazing mind for being able to overcome that! Btw, I agree with Ashley you are too smart for college.

Leave a Reply

