This n That

2 days. 2 freakin days left of summer. However I am ending it with an Eric Church concert – free tickets babayy! But seriously, where in the world did summer go?? Read this

I feel what Ash is talking about. The hope for a fresh start, new goals, fresh determination, motivation….. all that fade away within the first week of school, or 2 weeks if I’m lucky. I’m taking a number of classes that I’m kind of excited about, including two philosophy courses and a nutrition class. I’m eager to learn and soak in information. Other classes, like Precalculus and ProSem, can go die in ditches for all I care. Def not looking forward to those. In the end, I’ll probably start counting down the days til fall break by the end of week two. :P

Change is another topic I’ve thought about recently. I know that I, personally, am terrible with change. I hate it when my routine changes, and it takes me a while to adapt to new things. Another reason why the drastic hair cut I got was such a big deal for me. I still love it :) But I don’t know if jumping off a cliff would be a good change…. maybe more like jumping off an airplane with a parachute attached to your back.

The only demons that can hurt you are your own. I know that’s true from experience. Honest, raw, cruel experience. I did a journal entry about that the other night. Believing in myself, being hard on myself, etc. Dustin and I were talking about journaling, and he said he didn’t understand the concept of journaling, like it was a way to hide thoughts and such. I’d never thought about it in that way. Journaling has always been very personal to me; I’m not one to go out and put my emotions on the roof for all to see. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m not an extravert and don’t care to have all my shit out there for people to see. And as Dustin put it, “You think about things… and then you think about what you thought about.” Heard that! What a terrible terrible habit. I overanalyze E.V.E.R.Y.T.H.I.N.G. and my journal is there to take it all in. Thank goodness for pencil and paper.

Anyway other stuff….. I should do a blog post on Malcolm Gladwells’ Blink. Awesome book, love it.

Happy 9 Month Anniversary to Dustin! <3

 

 

 

2 comments on “This n That

  1. Ahha20 says:

    I analyze everything too dear :) Life is one big rollercoaster and as you said, thank god for a paper and pin, honestly I know without it, my life would be a whole lot more complicated.

  2. ashley says:

    “You think about things… and then you think about what you thought about.”: isn’t that what being in psychology is all about? Isn’t that the psychology motto or some shit?

    That’s interesting he says that about journaling. Does he go around telling everyone what he is thinking all the time? (wait, don’t answer that.) I don’t think it’s hiding anything, per se. Sure what you write is private and you’re not telling anyone else those things, but you don’t just tell people that stuff whether you journal or not.

Leave a Reply

