Isn’t it funny when you’re dead how people start listening?

I really do take MUCH too long to post. I need to get off my worry of having mediocre posts. I’m such a perfectionist sometimes, gah.

I love this song atm.

End of the summer. Okoboji trip with my two bestest friends in the entire world. Had a Freakin. Blast. :) Speaking of which, I needa print off pics for our awesome lake rock frames!

After that I went on a canoeing trip with my oldest sister and her family. New experience, awesome people, amazing time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not only was the canoeing a new experience (I’ve been camping before, and that never gets old, I love it) but the bus trip to and from Minnesota was also a new experience. Good way to get from place to place – much cheaper than a plane ticket – but also much much slower and B..O..R..I..N..G. Unless you meet a cool old woman like I did. :)

The first campsite we stayed at had a rocky shore bordering the woods next to the water, and Tristen, in looking for a quiet place to read and write, stumbled upon a spot where someone had made little rock statues lining the rocks closest to the water. My first impression was that they were little people. :) But it was very cool to see; Tristen and I added our own little rock people, and put our initials by them.

I learned a few things on this trip:

  1. I’m not much for canoeing. I don’t think I’d care to repeat it anytime soon. However I would like to try kayaking.
  2. I can carry my weight in crossing the portages and setting up camp and making dinner.
  3. And do it ALL in flip flops, mind you. (That’s no small feat when the terrain is rocky and rough and uphill and downhill and slick and you’re carrying 30-50lb bags on your back).
  4. I’m not that much of an outdoorsy person. I don’t mind camping out for a few days, and I love making dinner over a fire and chillin by the water, but I wouldn’t want to do it for weeks like adventurous people do. :P I like luxuries like brushing my teeth and real toliets that flush.
  5. Canoeing and camping out is very, very relaxing but it leaves wayyy too much time for THINKING!
My thoughts are so annoying. Even more annoying when I don’t have pencil and paper to spill them out. I filled up like 6 pages in my journal when I got home. I might post some of those later if I feel like it. There are so many though, I have no idea what I’d choose.
Other than that good stuff, I’m sad my bestie Amberness is going to be leaving the dirty sewer. But then again I’m extremely happy and excited for her to start this new chapter of her life. :)
Today I’m thankful that I have an amazing boyfriend who makes me smile and laugh at the times when I least feel like it.
2 comments on “Isn’t it funny when you’re dead how people start listening?

  1. Ahha20 says:

    I love this Heather! I’m gonna miss you! I love how you put the pictures in the post, and I expect more of these! I love how you posted the pic and then wrote a story behind it! :) I think those rock people are really cool :) someday i will have to camp and then write about it! Your pictures are awesome, and never talk about how you are “not that good,” in front of me, I might have to slap you! lol

Leave a Reply

