Mind Vomit

The concept of placebos has always fascinated me.

It’s all in what you believe.

I read a post the other day entitled “Procrastination.” I figured it might give me some insights on how to beat this horrible habit. It began with stating the myth: You procrastinate because you are lazy and can’t manage your time well. Good call. Then it moved on to the truth: Procrastination is fueled by weakness in the face of impulse and a failure to think about thinking. What? So I read on.

“Procrastination is all about choosing want over should because you don’t have a plan for those times when you can expect to be tempted.

You are really bad at predicting your future mental states. In addition, you are terrible at choosing between now or later. Later is murky place where anything could go wrong.

Procrastination is an impulse; it’s buying candy at the checkout. Procrastination is also hyperbolic discounting, taking the sure thing in the present over the caliginous prospect some day far away.”

It’s really an interesting read. Take a look if you’re interested.

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1hQLPM/youarenotsosmart.com/2010/10/27/procrastination/

Has some nice studies. Will power, will power, will power. Now I need to go back and read it to see if I can find anything on raising your motivation level….

If not now, then when?

Reality calls. I still have things to post/share/say, but I’ll post again soon (hopefully). 8am classes don’t treat me nicely, specially not when I go to bed at 1am.

Leave a Reply

